Leading Defense Attorney Edward La Rue, founding partner of the Law Offices of La Rue & La Rue in Cleveland, OH, details commonly asked questions about sex crime charges and sex offense penalties. For more information please visit https://www.edwardrlarue.com
— In a recent interview, Edward La Rue, founding partner of the Law Offices of La Rue & La Rue in Cleveland, OH, answered commonly asked questions about sex crime charges and sex offense penalties.
For more information please visit https://www.edwardrlarue.com/
When asked to comment, La Rue said, “There are many things that people are unaware of when it comes to sex crime charges and penalties for sex offenses. Here are a couple of answers to the most common questions from people who are looking for legal representation in Ohio.”
A frequently asked question, according to La Rue, is about how sex offenses requiring registration are categorized. In Ohio, there are three classifications: Tier I, Tier II, and Tier III.
When asked to explain further, La Rue said, “The least severe and restrictive of the three is Tier I, while Tier III is the most. Which tier an offender falls under depends entirely on the charge for which one is convicted. That said, even Tier I can have long-term, life-altering repercussions. For instance, if you're found guilty of a sex-oriented offense in the state of Ohio, you're required to register as a sex offender no matter the tier."
La Rue further added that people often ask whether or not sexual registration lists are public in Ohio.
"Yes, anyone in Ohio can view adult registration lists. No matter which tier the offense falls under, the person convicted is added to the state’s internet database called ESORN, which stands for Electronic Sex Offender Registration and Notification.”
According to La Rue, in addition to registering, anyone convicted of a sex crime must regularly report to Ohio authorities. The frequency and duration of this mandated reporting depends entirely on the tier.
When asked for more details, he said, “For Tier III, offenders are required to report every 90 days for the remainder of their lives, and to notify the community of their offense. Of course, reporting is less strict for Tier II, which mandates registration once every 180 days for the duration of 25 years, while Tier I calls for reporting once a year for 15 years. “
Another commonly asked question involves penalties for common sex offenses in Ohio.
“In the state of Ohio, sexual battery is categorized as a Tier III offense and as a third-degree felony with the possibility of one to five years in prison. If the victim is younger than 13, then sexual battery is a second-degree felony and has a compulsory prison sentence of two to eight years,” he said.
La Rue pointed to the fact that a conviction of unlawful sexual conduct with a minor carries different penalties depending on the age of the parties involved.
When asked to explain further, La Rue said, "If the offender is less than four years older than the victim, then unlawful sexual conduct is a first-degree misdemeanor with up to 180 days of jail time as a sentence. However, this crime is considered a third-degree felony if the offender is ten years or more older than the victim with one to five years in prison."
Release ID: 88950728